1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Pilots with Prius

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by efusco, Apr 5, 2004.

1. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I know Bob and Priuspilot are pilots, I'm a pilot (though I haven't flown for almost 5 years now :x

Anyway, I thought it would be fun to see how many of us Prius owners are also licensed pilots, maybe post a little about your 'pilot self'.

I got my ticket while living in Alaska, where flying is a way of life. I didn't do any night flying until about 6 months after I got my certification b/c there wasn't enough "night" to do it until November! I got my tail dragger endorsment about a year later in a 1957 Taylor Craft, canvas wings, coat hanger with a cork for a fuel guage, speedometer in MPH, no flaps, no trim tabs, but pure joy in flying.

I flew with the Alaska Civil Air Patrol a bit and got to fly a 172XP for a bit and had a couple turns at the controls of a DeHavilland Beaver--if you ever get a chance to play in one of those take it, what a docile machine.

One of my favorite things was taking family and friends on flights over the glaciers and around the mountains that were at the edge of the valley we lived in. You could fly over the Knik river and spot the Beluga Whales migrating, and the color of the water deposited on the glaciers is indescribably beautiful.

I only flew into class C airspace a few times and never anything higher, most often I was just talking to myself as I called out my turns on approach to the little airport I usually flew out of.

I think I miss it a bit...... :(

2. N9IWP

N9IWP New Member

PP-ASEL here. Details later.

Brian

3. Brian

Brian Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II