1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

PIP worth it for 55 mile commute?

Discussion in 'Gen 1 Prius Plug-in 2012-2015' started by the_chinadian, Nov 9, 2012.

1. the_chinadian

the_chinadian New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Hi all,

Disclaimer: I'm a total noob. I'm shopping priuses; this will be my first one! And I'm trying to decide between a regular III or the PIP. I live right next to the highway and will be commuting 55 miles to work and 55 miles back so 110 miles round trip.

My office parking lot is in the middle of nowhere with no plug. So this means I would be EV only for 11 miles / day out of the 110 total.

QUESTIONS:
    1. For this type of commute, is it worth it to get the PIP? Assuming after credits, the difference between the III and the PIP is $1,000?
    2. Is it true that the PIP only stays EV up to 62 mph? (I live next to the highway with a reverse commute and traffic normally flows around 70-75) I normally set cruise control at 70-75.
    3. Will my overall mpg suffer in a PIP (with this commuting scenario)because of the extra 123 lbs?
    4. If I am consistently driving at 70, does this mean I am not really getting any value out of the PIP?

Thanks for all your help and advice.

2. cwerdna

cwerdna Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I recall in your other thread you said you live in Nor Cal. Will HOV lane stickers be of any benefit? It sounds like no.

3. the_chinadian

the_chinadian New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    No. Commute is from Sacramento to Stockton and back. It's a reverse commute so I have no traffic in the directions I am driving in. HOV lanes are not really needed. Although in 4 years I may move to bay area ...

Question:
    5. Do I need to drive below 62 to get the benefit of the PIP? Or can i set the cruise at 70 and still get some value out of it?

4. the_chinadian