1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

POLL: Would you be willing to broaden your horizons?

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by Pinto Girl, Nov 8, 2006.

?
  1. No, I don't think this sort of training would be of any value U.S. citizens

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Yes, I think it would be worthwhile for Americans to learn more about other cultures.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Not in this form, but the idea is worthy of further consideration

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Pinto Girl

Pinto Girl New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I've never done a poll like this before, and I'm a little nervous that I'm doing something wrong.
    So....BE NICE!!!!!!
    [laughing]

I really believe that if people who don't seem to share a lot in common knew even a little more about each other, it might have a positive effect.

I'm currently envisioning some sort of cultural awareness training for U.S. citizens. It would be a way for us to acknowledge that we're part of a larger worldwide community. It would also give us all something that we're all more or less doing at the same time...fodder for discussion.

Also, it's easier to discriminate against others when they're less than wholly human; lack of understanding is one way it happens. Cultural awareness training might be one way to counteract that. Might also show us how well off we as a society we really are.

I know...you're thinking, what color is the sky in my world...?
    Well, I can tell you that the traffic lights here are only one color (pink) and unicorns are accorded the right of way at intersections...

2. jared2

jared2 New Member

Sign me up. As long as I don't have to learn Mandarin.

3. hyo silver

hyo silver Awaaaaay

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A