1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

post oil change stalling/ no start

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by shepsimp, Mar 4, 2009.

1. shepsimp

shepsimp New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    I recently changed oil and filter in a 2005 Prius. After a very short drive, the check engine light illumined, and the car stalled. I never was able to restart it. The oil level was perfect and there was no leakage.My scan tool was unable to interface with the Prius ECU so I couldn't retrieve any fault codes. I had the car towed to the dealer, and the vague explanation was that the inlet manifold had become oil "quenched"(?) as if I had somehow spilled oil somewhere and it got into the manifold. I did not spill any oil though, nor did I overfill. I am a professional mechanic with 35 years' experience working on imported cars, though I have little experience with the hybrids. I have no idea what I did wrong with this car, but do want to continue servicing hybrids.

Can anyone explain what may have happened?

2. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I'm wondering whether you used a pressurized pump to fill the engine oil, or if you were just adding quart bottles through a funnel. If the former, then note that a metal baffle runs along the underside of the engine valve cover. If you are pumping oil in under pressure, especially if the hose is turned so that it is pointing towards the inverter, then oil might flow along the baffle and enter the PCV hoses that are hidden under the engine wire harness (above cyl. 4).

Also note that the correct engine oil viscosity is 5W-30 and 3.7 quarts will bring you up to the top dimple.

You'll probably need an OBD-II reader compliant with the Toyota CAN to have success retrieving DTC logged by the engine ECU. However this may not retrieve DTC logged by some of the other ECUs.