1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Power surge on highway?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by yaderhey, May 11, 2005.

1. yaderhey

yaderhey New Member

Hi ... I test-drove the Prius Saturday and noticed a surging feeling while driving on the highway. It sort of felt like I was being pulled along. The salesman explained that it had something to do with the engine set-up, but I didn't really understand what he was getting at. He said "You get used to it," which seemed to be an unusual answer.

Can someone please shed some light on this before I buy?

Thanks much!

2. vprius

vprius New Member

Yes, I have noticed this also. I'm new to the Prius, only have had it a few weeks. Maybe it is the battery cycling...giving the electrical assist for the acceleration? I'm sure one of the Prius "experts" on the board should be able to explain the surging sensation. There are so many things that feel and sound different in this car that I just wrote it off as "normal". I hope it is anyway!

3. galaxee

galaxee mostly benevolent

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Welcome to the boards. Your name indicates you're probably from Wisconsin or Michigan, right? :wink:

Now as far as this Prius thing goes. I can't give you a tech explanation. However, you have to keep in mind that nothing about this car is going to be like any other car you have driven.

I have had mine almost 2 months and now I know what to expect. This makes my car 'normal' and everyone else's car 'weird.'

This car will definitely change your perception of cars in general.

4. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    It's probably caused by the motor speeding (up?) as the battery decides to help out. It could also occur if the road was a slight downhill the car was on battery for a bit and then you hit a flat part and the engine starts up and provides power