1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

prius 2008 damage !!!!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by corkerjoe, Feb 20, 2008.

1. corkerjoe

corkerjoe New Member

Wife backed into another car. I need a new rear bumper, if that is what it is called.
    Really cold whether seems to make it brittle -3
    have a 2008 driftwood perle. If you know where i can find,in central MI. I need one.:eek:

2. Steamboatsig

Steamboatsig Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Do you have pictures of what it looks like?

3. joerdie

joerdie New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Dos thou hath insurance? I am no expert but your deductible, once paid to fix the other car, should also cover yours. Right?

4. NoMoShocks

NoMoShocks Electrical Engineer

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I have never heard of paying your deductible to fix the other car. If you don't get your own car fixed, then no deductible. If it is just the rear bumper cover, then the cost is likely right in the $500 to $600 range where if you have a $500 deductibel, you wonder if it is worth submitting a claim for less than $100. On the other hand, if there is a claim for the other car, might as well. Other choice would be to buy one from a wrecking yard of the same color or get someone to paint it. Sorry to hear of your troubles. Be sure to point out the Back Up Camera to the wife.

5. Qlara

Qlara New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Mainly the part is called "Bumper Cover". It depends on how badly your rear bumper cover is damaged, any photos too?

If it's just a scratch (no dents), you can either cover it up with some moldings or buff it out. But if the bumper is pushed out of alignment (from the car body) then you may have some serious damage going on behind there and a Insurance call maybe needed.