1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius Engine HP upgrades

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by JBJAG, Nov 11, 2005.

1. JBJAG

JBJAG New Member

Well I'm a newbie - with a brand new 2005 Silver Pkg 6 Prius in my driveway -

6 miles on the odometer - I was skeptical at first...... took a test drive and was immediaetly sold on the little beauty.

The things bloody amazing !! (and yes I am English)

Anway whilst browsing the Ebay offerings of Prius accessories I came accross numerous performance enhancers suposedly promising even more horsepower or even better fuel ecomomy MPG -

has anyone tried any of these gizmos ? and do they work ?

here are a few links to the various ebay pages - you'll need to copy and paste the entire link to check out the auctions -

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAP...TRK%3AMEWA%3AIT

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAP...TRK%3AMEWA%3AIT

oh and one last question - I'd like to move up to fully synthetic oil - can I do that immediately before I put any miles on the engine - or should I break the car in for 500 miles first ?

cheers all

James :)

2. Bill Lumbergh

Bill Lumbergh USAF Aircraft Maintainer

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Some details regarding the items you linked to.....

The first attempts to coax the incoming air to swirl, which is supposed to improve its density. Once the air has passed over the throttle plate it wil no longer be swirling, and even less so once it has dispersed into the intake manifold runners. If the vortex generator is installed immediately prior to the airflow meter (on vehicles equipped with one), the possibility of poor performance exists due to the turbulence created. Airflow meters rely on smooth airflow over the hotwire, which is why they often include an air horn.

Have you ever seen the factory install one of these? There's a reason why they don't.