1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius for the Environment?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by yhkoh, Dec 7, 2008.

1. yhkoh

yhkoh New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Hey guys,

Thinking of getting a Prius for environmental reasons but I got some questions to ask before I make my decision:

1. Did you buy the Prius for envirnomental advantages or for its fuel savings?
    2. Does me owning a Prius really make an impact for the environment? I read some threads and there seems to be some debate on this.
    3. The Prius cost more than the Honda Fit which has good mpg as well, should I really be paying more for a hybrid car?

Cheers :):)

2. shtinkypuppie

shtinkypuppie Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    I am not an environmental engineer, environmental chemist, or anything of the sort, but I did buy the Prius in large part for its reduced environmental impact. I, too, thought hard about a smaller, cheaper car with good MPG. There are a number of things to consider:

- Obviously, green technology is advancing rapidly and will continue to do so considering the incoming president. Prius can be modified to incorporate these new technologies (see: Hymotion), a conventional auto cannot.