1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius Help - New to the Life of Prius

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by SaabaTheHutt, Aug 23, 2020.

1. SaabaTheHutt

SaabaTheHutt Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hi everyone,

I had no idea this forum existed and needed something exactly like this just to get some more help on my issue. Thank you in advance!

I've wanted a Toyota Prius for such a long time now, so I bought one from Carvana. I Purchased a 2015 Prius Two. Had about 72000 miles on it and had it since 3/2020. Also this is the second car I have ever purchased so I am still learning a ton.

I would like to admit that when I did receive the car, it definitely took a second for myself to get used to, but after a week or so, I can without a doubt say that I am a Prius fan for life. The issue I think I am having is understanding how the hybrid battery (or traction battery according to other websites) works exactly. I was a bit concerned when I would leave my car idle and see the battery almost depleted but then I learned that is pretty normal. What I feel like I have noticed recently was that after a trip my hybird battery would be almost full, after parking and turning off the car for a day, I would turn on my car the next day and begin driving to find out my battery has depleted. I thought that maybe I left a light on or something but I was wrong. I can't tell if I am doing anything wrong or if there is something wrong with the battery. I just feel like I haven't noticed it deplete this much. I recently took the car to a Toyota dealership for a software update recall and they did a quick inspection and I was told nothing major was wrong with the car, if anything the car is in pretty excellent condition. Does anyone have any tips or ideas?