1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius newbie: about how many miles can I expect between fill ups?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by camden, Aug 16, 2011.

1. camden

camden New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I have two long drives up and down the east coast coming up in the next 2 weeks: the first one (this week) will be approximately 750 miles on the drive down and 750 miles on the drive back (1500 miles total) and the second one (next week) will be approximately 700 miles on the drive down and 700 miles on the drive back (1400 miles total). This makes for a total of approximately 2,900 miles in the next 2 weeks and since I'm a broke college student I'm trying to make these drives as affordable as possible.

A relative has agreed to let me temporarily swap my car for his 2008 Prius for the next 2 weeks in order to cut down on the gas costs but since I've never driven a Prius before I'm trying to figure out about how many miles I can go before needing to refuel. The reason for this is that I can get a major discount on gas but only at Citgo stations, so I'm trying to map out the Citgo stations along the route ahead of time so I'll know when and where to stop. However, I don't know how many miles apart I should map them out since I'm not sure how many miles the Prius will go before needing to refuel. If I'm to believe the stats I've found online, the '08 Prius gets roughly 45 miles per gallon and has an 11.9 gallon tank, which would mean I could go 535.5 miles before running empty. But there are several things wrong with that, namely that I know the usable amount is less than 11.9 gallons, that you're not supposed to let it run close to empty, and that the 45 mpg could be higher or lower depending on the driving conditions.