1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius Prime LE

Discussion in 'Prime Main Forum (2017-2022)' started by Carnewbie, Feb 16, 2022.

1. Carnewbie

Carnewbie New Member

Vehicle:
    2022 Prius Prime
    Model:
    LE
    Hi all,

I am looking to buy the latest 2022 Prius prime LE. It is priced at $27220. My goal is to get the best price closest to this price tag. I am a newbie with purchasing cars from dealers.

Currently, all the used cars similar models are selling about the same price or higher which seems wierd to me, but I am hearing it is becasue of shortage of parts, manufacturing slow down and high demand for cars.

My question is how to get the 2022 Prius prime LE at the price tag MSRP at $27220. I am assuming this price doesnt include sales tax, I believe that may be extra when I purchase it? Most of the dealers are selling the car at a higher price. Are certified toyota dealers allowed to sell a NEW prius prime LE for a higher price if they wish? I want to get educated a bit before blindly believing whatever the dealer may say to me. I hear that a factory order would cost less but I am not sure how to go about it. I am okay to wait for a few months if I place a factory order if thats the best route. I have about $15K maximum amount to put down as downpayment to save on interest rate.

Can all you wise and patient people help me out here? I apologize if the answer was hidden somewhere on this forum and it is a repeat question.

Thanks much,
    Sai

#1 Carnewbie, Feb 16, 2022
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2022
  2. Marine Ray

Marine Ray Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    The current auto sales climate has resulted in most 2022 Prius Primes being sold with dealer mark ups above MSRP. On rare occasions the past two months have I read of 2022 PP sales at MSRP after a significant amount of time communicating with dozens upon dozens of dealers.