1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius under the hood

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by MrPrezident, Jan 16, 2011.

1. MrPrezident

MrPrezident New Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I'm new to learning about cars in general. I just got a 2011 Prius and now I've been fascinated about how it works. I haven't found anything completely listing the components under the hood for the 3rd gen Prius. So I thought I'd post here and check to see if I've correctly identified everything visible.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

1) HSD coolant?
    2) wiper fluid
    3) Air intake muffler?
    4) HSD
    5) Air filter
    6) Inverter
    7) Inverter coolant
    8) Brake fluid
    9) ECU?
    10) fuse box?

2. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Pry #4 up and you'll see it's a piece of show-biz plastic, over the engine valve cover ;)

I believe #1 is the regular coolant, for the circuit that runs through the engine, and #7 is the coolant for the electric motor circuit.

#10 is indeed the fuse box (there's another under dash), and there is an electrical contact point in there you can use for connection positive jumper or charger clamp, under a little red lid. Just to left of the orange cable is a little metal "tit" sticking out of the side of engine block: a good connection point for negative jumper or charger clamps.

*8 is brake fluid, but level check is at a second bottle, further back under the cowl. There's a little plastic door in the cowl that flips open if you need to top up brake fluid.

3. MrPrezident

MrPrezident New Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I know you can't see in the pictures, but #7 actually says "inverter coolant" on the label.

4. adamace1

adamace1 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II