1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius unfortunate incident - Beware!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Kablooie, Aug 2, 2004.

1. Kablooie

Kablooie Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I've been driving my Prius for about 4 months now. Yesterday I had to drive my wife's van instead. I parked, put the shift in P, set the parking brake and locked the door as I shut it.

My daughter then pointed out that the car was still running with the keys in the ignition! I've never done anything like that before in my life! I realize I've lost the habit of turning off the ignition and taking out the keys. Boy how quickly things change. I've been driving for 30 years and just after a few months the Prius has completely changed my ingrained habits.

Luckily my daughter had her keys so we got back in without any problem but ...

WARNING:
    This could happen to YOU so -- BEWARE!

Bwaa Haa Haa Haa Haaaaa ... uh ... *cough*cough*
    excuse me.

2. cnetter

cnetter New Member

Sorta like when I used to drive only a manual. One day on a business trip I pulled out of the airport in the rental car (an automatic), approached a stop sign and "threw in the clutch". Funny thing about automatics, the left most peddle isn't a clutch.

Thanks for the warning "Kablooie".

3. LeVautRien

LeVautRien Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    It's just like when you drive a car with automatic off headlights and then go back to the ones you have to turn off.

4. DaveinOlyWA

DaveinOlyWA 3rd Time was Solariffic!!

Vehicle:
    2013 Nissan LEAF
    Model:
    Persona