1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius Upgrade Progress

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by emogowl, Feb 27, 2010.

1. emogowl

emogowl New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Good Morning folks,

I am a Health Care professional frequently on the road at 04:00 in all weathers. My latest generation Prius purchased new from a Toyota main dealer has been fine. Apart from blowing (ordinary) light bulbs with monotonous regularity it hasn't missed a beat, it has never had a problem with brakes or accelerator. Now about four months old the car has covered nearly 9,000 miles.
    Last week the new software upgrade was carried out by the same Toyota main dealer. Fuel consumption increased from an average of about 60mpg (imperial gallons, not USA gallons) to about 55mpg over the same route, same driving/same driver. It snowed again the other day and guess what .. the ABS didn't work at all. Here in Northern Ireland we have had a lot of snow (for us that is) since before Christmas and the previous ABS has given me no trouble whatsoever. This time when I dabbed the brakes (gently, I am an experienced 20,000 miles a year driver) the brakes locked and the car slid. This car has never done this before and to say that it startled me would be something of an understatement. Its been at least twenty years since I locked the brakes in any car. I have spoken to the dealer and they will take a look in a month or so when the car goes in for its 10,000 mile service, but things appear to have been changed with the software upgrade that I am not mad keen upon.

2. spiderman

spiderman wretched

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Interesting, thanks for the report. I would insist they take a look at it now so they have a chance to try it out on the snow to see what it does. Have you been able to repeat the locking at will?

3. emogowl

emogowl New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius