1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius v3 Radio - Sound going in and out

Discussion in 'Prius v Audio and Electronics' started by ghettomaximaz, Aug 4, 2012.

1. ghettomaximaz

ghettomaximaz Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Hello,

This could very well be that I am a newbie, but when driving the v3, i noticed when on FM radio, the radio goes from crisp sound to muffled noise as if the person is singing under water. I noticed that when this happens the "HD" sign next to the FM radio frequency goes on and off.

No other car that I have has "HD" radio and it always sounds crisp in those. Is this to be expected that as I am driving down the road the HD radio goes "in and out" and the sound quality suffers as a result?

Can something be done to correct this?

Thanks

2. Paradox

Paradox Prius Enthusiast / Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Yep, hd radio is cd quality sound, fm is well fm. Mine goes in and out in places and the clear sound switching back and forth to fm can get annoying. Only fix is turn hd radio off to force it to stay in fm.

3. ghettomaximaz

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    only thing is when i switch hd off, the fm sounds awful. not sure why fm should sound that bad. Not the case in other vehicles. The FM sounds just so muffled and i have to kick up the volume and its still not crisp.

Assume there is nothing I can do?

4. Paradox

Paradox Prius Enthusiast / Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Basically, that's it... Leave hd radio on, but have it switch or just use fm. That is, short of making your own CDs or mp3 loaded thumb drive etc.

5. rjparker

rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three