1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius weight loss as a key to better fuel economy

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by cbustapeck, Oct 28, 2006.

1. cbustapeck

cbustapeck New Member

I don't own a Prius yet, but my next car will almost certainly be one. If I wasn't so tall (I'm 6'8"), I'd just buy a tiny, efficient used car, like a Geo Metro convertible.

While I like the looks of the Prius and find it very comfortable, there are not many occasions where I really need the back seats. In my current vehicle, I can't think of an occasion in more than a year where I've had more than one passenger. That said, I'm an artist, and I would like to be able to haul stuff in the back of my car.

This brings me to the question - all that extra junk in the back (seats, interior upholstery, door panels, etc) seems like extra weight. Has anyone tried to significantly reduce the weight of the Prius to improve gas mileage? When I took a test drive in a 2005 Prius, I found that the console got in the way of my right leg. Removing it would save some weight.

This leads me to think of more drastic weight loss measures, in the name of efficiency. Carbon fiber racing seats, carbon fiber doors, replacing window glass with Lexan... I've checked the forums, and perhaps I'm just blind, but I can't seem to find anyone who's done anything so silly thus far.

Any thoughts?

2. philmcneal

philmcneal Taxi!

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(cbustapeck @ Oct 28 2006, 02:42 PM) [snapback]340067[/snapback]</div>
    your better off in a geo metro imo, if you learn to hypermile it you can milk 78 mpg tanks like the #1 guy on gassavers.org

if you like lazy gas saving get the prius, you'd work harder in a metro but you pay much less.

Good luck! This is coming from a guy who hypermiled a civic (47 mpg) and now is driving a 03 classic. (55 mpg)