1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius wouldn't start today

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by Bilkes, Mar 7, 2017.

1. Bilkes

Bilkes New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hey everyone. This is my first time visiting the forum and I'm hoping you guys can help me out. I own a 2007 Prius, just hit 196,000 miles today. I bought the car from my father in law about a year and a half ago.

Today, I drove to work and everything was normal. When I tried to leave, I pressed the brake, clicked the power button, and several dash lights came on (ABS, ( ! ), Check Engine) and the digital display components were fluttering. Initially I suspected a battery issue. I arranged to have it jump started and it sat for about an hour, but when I tried to start it again it started up just fine...

Some research that I did suggests that it's probably the auxiliary 12v battery that's going bad, and I have no idea if it's ever been replaced. If that's the case, is this something I can purchase and install easily myself? I'm not a mechanic by any means, but I've done several fixes on past vehicles.

Some other issues I've had:

Sometimes when I go to start the car and press the brake, the pedal sinks much further than it should, almost to the floor. Other times it will catch as it does when braking normally. Is this something to be concerned about?

In the past, whenever I double tapped the power button to roll the windows down, they move incredibly slow. Also when using the double tap for non-driving power, I'll get an alert on the screen saying something about the parking mechanism. Could these be battery related as well?

Thanks for any help. I just want to make sure I get as much info as possible before I spend any money on fixes.

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base