1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Problem starting after refueling

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by simonr4, Oct 23, 2005.

1. simonr4

simonr4 Junior Member

I just got my Prius '05 3 weeks ago and after refueling and getting back in the car, nothing happened when I stepped on the Brake pedal and pressed the Power button. I had to insert the key farb into the slot to get the green lights on either side of the slot to light and then the car came on without a problem.

Any Ideas as to what is wrong?

Simon W. Rosenberg, DMD
    DrSimonRosenberg.com -- I was a Hi-Technology Dentist before becoming a Prius Owner

[​IMG]

2. Wayne

Wayne Active Member

Have you tried your second fob?

3. Frank Hudon

Frank Hudon Senior Member

just a possibility but have you accidently bumped the SKS button under the steering colum? Did it start normally agian after you shut it down and removed the fob?

4. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Did you leave the fob in the car while you were fueling? There is a "time out" feature where the sks inside the car will temporarily become disabled if it continuously senses the smart key but the power button is not activated within about 10 minutes.

To reset you can remove the fob from the car, close and lock the door, then reenter the car.

5. simonr4

simonr4 Junior Member

Frank, I don't think I hit the SKS defeat button but I guess it is possible.

Wayne, The second fob was also in my pocket. On the weekends, I have both sets of my keys in my pocket. On weekday, I do insert the fob on one keychain with my other car keys in the slot so that the Manhattan garage attendants can park and then fetch my car at the end of the day. The second fob is on my home/office key chain that I keep with me when I leave my car at the parking garage.