1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Programming 02 Prius aftermarket key

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by kcshowman, Feb 19, 2008.

1. kcshowman

kcshowman Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    I apologize if this has been discussed on the Forum previously. I have a master key for my 02 Prius. I bought a Strattec key blank, had it cut and followed these programming directions:

1) Make sure all doors and windows are closed.
    2) Insert Master key into the ignition cylinder.
    3) Cycle the ignition cylinder from ON to OFF five times.
    4) Open and close the driver side door six times.
    5) Remove the Master Key and insert the new duplicate key.
    6) TURN THE IGNITION CYLINDER ON.
    7) The new key will be registerd after 60-120 seconds. The THEFT light on the dashboard will go out indicating that programming has been completed.

The programming did not happen. The blinking LED light did not go out. Has anyone else here had experience programming a Strattec key?

2. tochatihu

tochatihu Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    No experience in this procedure, but your instructions look very similar to

Programming New Keys

No choice but to try it again, and if still no joy you might to better with an OEM blank. Good luck.

3. kcshowman

kcshowman Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Tochatihu- thank you for your post. I tried again and did each step as quickly as possible and successfully programmed the key. I rarely post here, but am always impressed and rewarded with the depth of knowledge that is available here.

4. kocho

kocho Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yup - took me several tries to do it. Counting properly to 6 and doing it fast is crucial ;)

Still, saving 80% off the dealer $100 or so quote for cutting and programming this dum key is rewarding...

5. kcshowman

kcshowman Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius