1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

PSD filter for 06 Prius???

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by viking31, Oct 2, 2007.

1. viking31

viking31 Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    OK, with 50,000 miles on my 2006 Prius I decided it is probably time to get around to changing the PSD fluid. Read all the past posts and the main issue is the filling of the PSD but that seems to be solved with the use of a 4 or 5 foot length of tubing connected to a funnel to fill the PSD.

But while poking around the Toyota Parts Cheap website (looking for WS oil) I came across this PSD filter. Nowhere on Priuschat have I seen a reference for a 04 and up PSD filter.

So does one exist? If so, where is it??

Rick
    #4 2006

2. drifty1955

drifty1955 New Member

I am not an expert but I believe thats the cvt trans filter..yes? Just remove that pan under the CVT. The tubing is to inject fluids into the bolt hole (fill hole) right above the main cvt pan wherein the filter is. No funnel...just tubing into the hole. The dealer has a gun that injects the WS fluid into that hole (like most oil change places) but to install it yourself you have to use a hand pump connected to that long tubing into the hole ( can't get the pump above the hole so have to pump up into it). Done it many times to different cars.Its quite a mess in your driveway if it gets away from you!
    There's quite alot of discussion here lately about trans fluid replacement concerning length of service of the fluid as there's been some cvt failures of older Prius. Very $$$$$. The dealer says 100k miles before replacement but to me thats