1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Purchase of New Toyota-Supplied HV Battery?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by jimolson, Nov 11, 2022.

1. jimolson

jimolson Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    I'm an Indiana electrical engineer with a lot of mech skills and tools. I've watched the esteemed Steve and Jenny Woodruff at AutoBeYours/Scottsburg, IN replace the hybrid batteries in my two Priuses in past years. They do a wonderful job at a fair price. Both vehicles now have 75k miles on their Toyota-made replacement batteries.

Time has come for me to attempt a DIY hybrid battery self-installation on my daughter's 2010. I'd gladly have ABY do this installation but they're 100 miles away and I no longer own a truck to tow daughter's vehicle down there.

Anyone in this forum know the extent of the hardware that comes in a dealership-supplied new "traction motor battery pack"? Is it simply a collection of replacement cells, or is it cells plus the mounting frame and cover?

I see mention in this forum of corroded buss bars and fasteners at 150k miles. Should I advance order a set of new buss bars or attempt to clean up the original ones with a motorized wire brush? Any other recommended parts to pre-order to support this project?

And is it necessary to precharge the new hybrid battery to enable the vehicle to start? I can charge it in my office lab on a bench power supply but it would have to be outside the vehicle. Landlord frowns on cars in the elevator.

bisco likes this.
  2. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base