1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Purchasing Gen 3 - Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by patricksmith04, Mar 1, 2018.

1. patricksmith04

patricksmith04 New Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Hello! I am looking at purchasing a Gen 3 Prius for long work commute.

My background is that I am a Subaru/Honda driver - currently have a 2015 Outback 3.6L. Not sure what led me to Prius other than wanting a safe great MPH vehicle that's somewhat comfortable for 100 miles a day. Have been on a couple test drives, but aside from exterior aesthetics, not sure what to be looking for.

I've done some research here, but curious if there are any years to avoid? I can get a high mileage 2010 fairly cheap, but then concerned about battery and oil burning.

Currently really drawn to the 2014/15 Persona and/or Five if I move forward. Feel like I could add HIDs and better speakers if I went persona, though I am a big heated seats guy. Thoughts?

Any advice would be grateful for the new guy! There is only so many older posts I can read!

Thanks in advance!

2. Bgustafson

Bgustafson Active Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Persona
    I was about to start a new thread to discuss my similar dilemma. I'm trying to decide between a 2013 or 2016. The price is quite a difference for my wallet, about a $4-5,000 difference. Really what I want is the 2018, but it will be a couple of years before I can afford a used one.

So my question is: should I really stay away from even a well maintained 2013? Will it actually save me money in the long run? Even with an HV battery replacement on the horizon, that's only 3 grand. Or do I go for a 2016 and keep it longer? I typically like to sell my used cars while they still have value and get something different every 4-5 years.

What are the major benefits besides a sleek look and new engine design?

#2 Bgustafson, Mar 1, 2018