1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Purple Battery on Startup

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Jleven22, Jul 28, 2017.

1. Jleven22

Jleven22 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I'm new to the Prius world and wondering if I have a reason to be concerned. Lately, my car has been starting up and staying on 1-2 purple bars on the battery for the first few minutes of driving. Then it appears to 'charge up' into the blue region, sometimes peaking at green.

But in those first few minutes the car sounds like it's working harder to drive. Is this something I should be concerned about?

Also, some background -- had the battery replaced with a refurb (the original died) about 3 months ago. Had the brake actuator replaced as well, thanks to warranty that ends in Dec 17 (just in time!). Not sure if these have anything to do with it, but I was concerned about the battery replacement and whether or not this is a battery related issue.

Thanks!

2. dolj

dolj Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    More than likely you traded your HV battery for another that was probably not much better. The only HV battery that is worthwhile these days is a genuine new one from Toyota. You just need to shop around the dealers and get the best price.

edthefox5 likes this.
  3. windstrings

windstrings Certified Prius Breeder

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Refurbs can only do well if they are meticulously built.. Takes time and testing and retesting and picking matched cells.... This is barely worth the effort to do it right so many vendors are tempted to cut corners.

Consider warranty offered and don't expect much life beyond that and your ok.

Going new is worth the peace of mind & warranty.