1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Question about Order Process/Delivery

Discussion in 'Order Tracking' started by MattD, Apr 4, 2006.

1. MattD

MattD Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello,

I'm really new at all this, and just ordered a Prius from a dealer just recently -- I could use some advice!

I was told by the dealer today that he would have the VIN number approximately two weeks prior to the delivery of the car, and that we could then "do the paperwork." I've never ordered a car before, but this strikes me as being somewhat odd (doing paperwork before a car arrives) -- or is he referring to something else?

My big issue here is that while I want the car, I do want to see it and check it out before I accept it. Has anyone else had this experience, or is this normal for Prius orders and delivery?

Also, any advice on prepurchase checklists, etc. would be most appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your help,

- Matt

2. bgdrewsif

bgdrewsif New Member

Phoenix, Arizona (formerly Bowling Green, Ohio)
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Well you definitely do not have to singn for the car before it arrives, and I would recommend that you do not... Check the car throughly before you sign the paperwork...
    Also: check this: http://priuschat.com/forums/files/prius_pi...p_checklist.rtf for all the delivery and pre-delivery checklists you will need, I am getting my prius this wekend and will be taking printout of all of them with me...

3. Miss_Taz

Miss_Taz New Member

A lot depends on what he meant by "paperwork"...

Our local dealer negotiates on the price (and any trade-in numbers) and has us sign a piece of paper with all those numbers on it. It's not really much of a contract, but it strongly implies that the deal is acceptable to both sides. They refer to this as "paperwork" sometimes.