1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Question about Touring

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by gilmore753, Jul 31, 2008.

1. gilmore753

gilmore753 New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Hello everyone,

My name is gilmore753, and I am new to the whole hybrid car thing. I was looking into buying an '08 Prius, but have a few questions that I'm not really sure about--I have never driven or owned a hybrid before. PLEASE BE PATIENT WITH ME :) First Touring or Not? I know that basically the Touring has a different size tire than the other two styles, but is there anything else? I mean is the tire size really important? Also, I was wondering about how the car starts, do you just put your key in the ignition just like any other car? Another thing when I service the car, can I go anywhere or does it have to be a Prius dealer? How long do the standard batteries for the car last? Also, besides being hybrid, is there anything significantly different between the way this car drives versus other "regular" cars? Thanks so much, I'm hoping you can all be help to me!

2. mingoglia

mingoglia Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Touring has larger tires, and slightly larger spoiler, and different spring rates in the back. It will offer a sportier ride... the only real downfall is these larger tires appear to reduce MPG very slightly (regardless of what a Touring owner will tell you), and the tires are more expensive to replace due to being a less common size.

If it has a smart key you just have to have the key fob in your pocket... that's all. Press the brake pedal, and hit the power button and it will light up. If you don't have the smart key, you just slip the FOB into the square hole where a traditional key is.