1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Questions from a new Prius owner

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by Irunnoft, Nov 16, 2007.

1. Irunnoft

Irunnoft New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Hi Everybody!

I'm new to the hybrid community, but I'm loving it so far. Just a few quick questions. I've been skimming threads looking for info, but my head is swimming and it's somwhat overwhelming for a n00b! :blink:

I live in the mountains of Western NC and it gets cold and snowy here in the winter. Should I consider an EBH? If so, where would I buy one? What do I ask for? I already called the dealership where I bought the Prius (Jim Barkley in Asheville) and they don't carry the engine block heaters and the guy said it might void my warranty if I install one. Is this true? They also said they wouldn't do the installation if I get an EBH, so who would I get to install it?

Next, I needed to find out more info about the pipe insulation (?) that people are stuffing in their grills. Can somebody tell me what it is and what I would ask for at Lowe's? What's it called and where would I find it? Any pics or links to this material would be GREATLY appreciated.

What tire pressure should I be running. From what I've read it's 40 in the front and 38 in the rear. Is this correct?

I may have posted this in the wrong section, but since the ultimate goal of all three of these questions deals with fuel economy, I thought I'd post it here. I really appreciate help with these questions, so "thank you!" in advance!

2. JackDodge

JackDodge Gold Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid