1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Questions re: highway mileage on flat ground & charging logic

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by sdrevik, Mar 22, 2011.

1. sdrevik

sdrevik New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I have 2008 touring, owner for 3 months now (bought used with 23k miles), tires broken in, inflated to 42/42, I'm an excellent anticipatory driver and almost never have to hard-brake. Been waiting for good weather and a flat highway drive to check my mileage. My in-town 20-minute commute mileage in cold weather was a terrible 36-38 mpg (now improving to 43 city in warm weather), so I was looking forward to a good mileage run on my business trip.

Reading some of the mpg vs. speed charts, I kept my speed down to 65-67 mph, 4 mile drive segment with no stops. Reset the mileage computer after getting on highway, all nicely warmed up. No A/C, just the passenger side windows cracked an inch. I struggled to get the mpg up to 46.5, but I had gotten 49 easily with rental Prius before. I was running the cruise control to manage the speed.

I noticed that on flat ground, the display would show it charging 70% of the time, doing nothing 20% of the time, and sending battery to drive about 10% of the time. Even when climbing a slight incline, it seemed to spend a majority of its time charging, not assisting, even when the battery was charged up green and had energy to spare.

On flat ground the energy history rarely showed any recovered kwh. I seem to recall seeing more when I had a rental, but maybe that's an artifact of flat ground vs. hills, and that I didn't see many because of the flat ground.

I tried accelerating more on the mild uphills to force some drive from the battery, tried some pulse-glide, but my mileage would drop down to about 44.