1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Quick question

Discussion in 'Local Prius Club Main Forum' started by Cherrie, Sep 1, 2007.

1. Cherrie

Cherrie New Member

I am a beginner at this whole Prius thing still and I have a question or two.

At every stop I make I put my car in the battery mode which I was told charges the battery. I use this almost everytime I stop thinking that the more battery I charge the more I will use, resulting in less of the motor to be used.
    Well my question is... Is this a bad habit to have, should I only use it when going down hill?

And one more quick question. I have left it in B when accelerating a few times, I know this cannot be good but should I be to worried about it seriously hurting my car?

Any advice would be good.

Thank you

2. thepixiesarah

thepixiesarah New Member

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Cherrie Cotillier @ Sep 1 2007, 05:40 PM) [snapback]505584[/snapback]</div>

Your salesman was seriously misinformed. The B gear is not "battery mode". Putting your car in that mode will actually keep the battery from charging. It is only for use going down long hills as a way to downshift the car. Keeping your car in that gear will not hurt it, but will hurt your fuel economy.

3. a priori

a priori Canonus Curiosus

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Cherrie Cotillier @ Sep 1 2007, 07:40 PM) [snapback]505584[/snapback]</div>
    Cherrie,

Welcome to PriusChat! You're about to get a boat-load of advice. 95% of that advice is going to be not only technically correct but also very helpful. The other 5% is likely to be more personal taste than anything else.