1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

radaitor blocking powered damper???

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by lextoy, Nov 22, 2010.

1. lextoy

lextoy Active Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    i am no expert on the prius electronics, but i cant help wondering why noone has put together a kit to automatically block the radiator in colder temps, unblock in warmer temps.
    obvious gains in mpg, and readily available damper systems, should be easily adaptable to our needs.
    HVAC dampers are avaialbe in all shapes and sizes. this one i found comes spring loaded to fail open... or spring loaded to fail closed(better for prius),
    can be custom sized to any dimension, i think our radiators are about 24 wide by 14 tall???
    4" deep so should fit in front of radiator with minor mods.
    motorized, motor can be mounted on side or on top or bottom, so ideally placed to fit in a prius.
    only problem is what to wire it to, independent Tstat control, or integrated into prius system. its 24 V also, but any decent electrician or HVAC person should be able to figure out how to turn the motor.
    its all aluminum, so easy to cut and modify, and add brackets to with sheet metal screw or rivets, and easy to cut extra holes in louvers along bottom row, for example, for full time partial ventilation of inverter loop.

i am no engineer, but some of you are very skilled, i wonder why noone has gotten this solved, or is it jsut not necessary, easier to shove pipe insulation into the grill;)lol

http://www.zonefirst.com/products/ZD.pdf

opticell likes this.
  2. lextoy

lextoy Active Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    can probably retrofit a 12 v motor for less than 4 dollars. maybe even order it with a 12v motor,
    or order it with no motor at all. pop in a 12 v.

3. lextoy

lextoy Active Member

Vehicle: