1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

realistic mileage for my commute

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Fuel Economy' started by draheim, Apr 23, 2010.

1. draheim

draheim Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Hello all,

I am still a newbie, having owned my 2010 Prius for about 4 weeks now. I posted a previous thread about my regular commute and got some very helpful tips to maximize mileage, some of which I have put into practice (increasing tire pressure, attempting pulse & glide) and some of which I have not (blocking the grill, EB heater).

This new thread has a couple of very specific questions for anyone who can help me. I have read lots of threads on this board over the past few weeks and gotten a pretty general idea of what I can realistically expect in terms of MPG, but I'm still confused by how some people can get 70 MPG (including owners of brand-new Priuses) while others of us are struggling to keep theirs above 40. I'm providing some specific information below to help explain this discrepancy in my particular case, and will conclude with the two key questions I'm searching for an answer to. Please bear with me.

I basically have two different commutes, depending on the day of the week. I'm using Google Maps to calculate distances based on my actual routes. On M-W-F I drive 3.1 miles to the bus stop, including a stop about halfway to drop my daughter off at daycare. That trip has one small hill, but the 1.8-mile return trip from the bus stop at the end of the day is one long, steady climb (for those of you who know Seattle, 15th Ave. NW from 65th to 85th is more than a mile of 5-7% grade, I would guess; a topo map would be useful to calculate this). So that's 4.9 miles each day on 3 days, with 2 cold starts per day.