1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Rear Tail Light Assembly Removal and Leak

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Katsu Curry, Feb 27, 2011.

1. Katsu Curry

Katsu Curry Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Hi All,

There are already several good guides for removing your rear tail light assemblies. When replacing the battery on my 2004 Prius, I noticed that there were a couple of inches of water in the bottom of the spare tire area and both side compartments (the battery and below the driver's side rear storage cubby). After draining, replacing the battery and research here, I decided the most likely culprit to be the light assemblies (or at least the easiest for me to patch).

I am a complete noob for car repair. I am very, very thankful to Priuschat members for providing info to help me fix many issues. So I wanted to post these as a thank you and help other noobs out there.

I read multiple heated debates on using silicon sealant and decided to go with the Dum Dum putty rope recommended by my local autoparts store. This came in a rectangular box with thin ropes (about 1/8th inch across) that had the consistency of thickened play doh.

Using other guides here (search for rear light assembly) I was able to remove the entire assemblies, seal them with the putty and replace them. It "seems" to have done the job so far. It has been about a month and I haven't seen any obvious water in the rear areas.