1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Reconditioning my Gen 2 battery and all cells have low capacity

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by bbellgrl, Jun 22, 2024 at 4:25 AM.

1. bbellgrl

bbellgrl New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I am in the process of trying to recondition my 2008 Prius hybrid battery using a EV-Peak BGUAD CQ3 Multi Charger. I am new to this, and I have the charger set to do 5 discharge/charge cycles with discharge at 1 amp/6v and charge at 3 amps with capacity cutoff set to 7500 mAh.

The results I'm getting are a bit weird. After running a minimum of five cycles on 12 cells, only 1 cell has reached a charge capacity of over 1000mAh, and none have reached a discharge capacity of over 1000mAh. They all test at least 7.8v, regardless of whether they have gone through the discharge/charge cycles yet.

Here's an example of the first 5 discharge/charge cycles on 3 random cells:

Cell 1: 694/627, 643/338, 337/160, 182/733, 676/460
    Cell 2: 647/121, 159/770, 748/832, 726/262, 289/122
    Cell 3: 665/231, 269/854, 790/854, 803/697, 682/804

Is it weird that all my cells have such low capacities? Or is it common with an original battery pack on a 150k mile 2008? I am seeing improvement on many cells, but it's like from 550mAh to 685mAh. Never close to 1000mAh.

Thanks for the help!

2. dolj

dolj Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    What is your charging setup?

3. ColoradoCrow

ColoradoCrow Active Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    I