RED DEAD TRIANGLE WHEN CONNECT ODB2 port

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Fernegri, Aug 7, 2020.

  1. Fernegri

    Fernegri New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    III
    HI. I try to connect teh scanner at odb port and the read triangle appears. all the lights start to blink and the car dies. I take it out reset the code the car runs good. but every time that I try to connect apperas again

    CODES
    U0293 - LOST COM WITH HYBRID VCS
    P0A1D - HYBRID POWER TRAIN MODULE
    U0100 - LOST COM WITH ECM/PCM
    U0111 - LOST COM WITH BATTERY ENERGY CONTROL MODULE "A"


    Any idea?
     
  2. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    89,784
    40,247
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    start with the 12v health
     
    edthefox5 likes this.
  3. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    10,132
    7,464
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    The pins on your OBD scanner ... are they plated? Do they look gold, tin, what?

    This happened to me. when I was plugging in a cable with cheap unplated pins. (Back when it was new, there was never a problem, but later it was the instant I plugged it in, every time.)

    If not, it can also be that certain scan tools probe for what kind of car they are in, and do it in ways that bother a Prius.
     
  4. Fernegri

    Fernegri New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I have other 2007 prius. I think that could be a bad conncetor inside the ODB plug or the PCM.
     
  5. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    3,217
    3,317
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    How many miles are on the vehicle?

    What OBD2 scanner are you using to retrieve the above codes (DTCs) ?? (make, model, app, etc)
     
Loading...