1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Red Triangle, ABS, VSC, Battery fan kicks on, transaxle "slippage"!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by rubbrchicken, Jul 9, 2015.

1. rubbrchicken

rubbrchicken New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hey all! This is my first time posting, but I've been using posts for the past month to try to troubleshoot this problem.

I have replaced a bad module in the HV battery and balanced it. Inverter coolant pump has been checked and inverter coolant has been replaced. Engine coolant has been drained and refilled. (Both coolant jobs followed Haynes manual guide including bleeder valves.) Transaxle fluid is full.

After each step of troubleshooting I have done a test-drive. Warnings come on consistently within 2-2.5 miles, day or night. I do not have a scan tool, but I do have the trouble codes from Toyota (all prior to my repairs). Is it possible that a bad ECT sensor could trigger all of this?? Is there something else I can check?

Toyota codes:
    P3000-123 Battery control system
    P0A80
    P3021
    P1118
    C1259
    C1310
    U0073 (? couldn't read the first letter very well) control Moudule Communication Bus OFF
    B1801 open in "D" squib circuit
    B1248 AVC-Lan comm impossible

All of this occurred suddenly a couple months ago. The car has been sitting ever since. The consistency of the problem leads me to believe it is a sensor related issue, but the massive span of codes is way beyond me!! :)

Thanks!!

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome! how many miles on her?

3. rubbrchicken

rubbrchicken New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
  4. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two