Red Triangle - Replace Hybrid Vehicle Control & Battery Computer Assembly

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Tony Lucas, Jun 29, 2018.

  1. Tony Lucas

    Tony Lucas Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    26
    11
    0
    Location:
    Louisville
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    So, I've been having the Red Triangle. I took it to the dealer, and they recommended I replace these 2 computers. They said all the blocks had healthy voltage and did not need replacing.

    TOYOTA 89890-47092 GENUINE OEM CONTROL MODULE
    Toyota Prius HVC Hybrid Vehicle Control Unit Module 89981-47212

    Would a bad computer cause Block 1 to have voltage fluctuations that I'm seeing?
    One computer is $20 on Ebay - no brainer
    The other one is $175 on Ebay - So I'm asking the forum for a little information.

    Screenshot_2018-06-29-16-06-48.png
     
  2. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    4,496
    4,755
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Possibilities: Bad/loose/cracked connection/sensor wire for block one, corroded sensor wire at the plug or corroded pin at ecu.
     
    Tony Lucas likes this.
  3. Al Bundy

    Al Bundy Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    140
    69
    0
    Location:
    florida
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Id be asking why did two computers fail at the same time..

    if you do buy used computers odds are you will have to go back to the dealer and have them flashed then programmed for your car, I dont think they are plug and play..
    im not sure what the cost of that will be or if they will even do it, they make their money selling new parts.
     
    Tony Lucas likes this.
  4. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    4,496
    4,755
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    The 47092 ECU is the one that is installed inside the HV battery pack. 47092, I believe, is the latest revision of the ecu. I have 5 or 6 on the shelf. They require no flashing. Direct plug and play, BUT before I purchased anything, I would check the sensor wires and the sensor harness connector plug and the ecu pins. Block 1 is the 2 modules furthest from the electronics section of the HV battery.

    I also have the other ecu on the shelf.

    Al said: Id be asking why did two computers fail at the same time.

    I agree x2. Odds are slimmmmmmmmmmmm

    And if the dealer is telling you that your battery is AOK since voltages look ok, I have nothing good to say about that.
    Look at Posts 16 and 17 in this thread if anyone thinks voltages tell the whole story......

    Just Another HV Battery Thread and Experiments | PriusChat
     
    #4 TMR-JWAP, Jun 29, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2018
    Tony Lucas and ITBland like this.
  5. Tony Lucas

    Tony Lucas Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    26
    11
    0
    Location:
    Louisville
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I thought it was weird that they said my battery was okay just based on the voltage. I thought they had to do a load test to check the battery. Although, I talked to the guy at the desk - not the technician. You know how those places work.

    I did buy the $20 47212 thinking it was the one in the hybrid battery. Oh well, do you know where it goes?

    This is the link to the troubleshooting guide they used to determine it was the computers. You can see at the bottom, Toyota says replace both computers.
    https://techinfo.toyota.com/t...df/T-SB-0166-09.pdf?locale=en
     
  6. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    95,338
    43,221
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    how many miles on her?
     
    Tony Lucas likes this.
  7. Dxta

    Dxta Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    1,902
    748
    0
    Location:
    Lagos
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I think load testing, is what one can do onboard the car, instead of the dealership, or when you remove the lack, you can do same. Either ways though.
     
    Tony Lucas likes this.
  8. Tony Lucas

    Tony Lucas Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    26
    11
    0
    Location:
    Louisville
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    160k miles
     
    bisco likes this.
  9. Tony Lucas

    Tony Lucas Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    26
    11
    0
    Location:
    Louisville
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I guess watching my voltage on each block while driving is best
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  10. Tony Lucas

    Tony Lucas Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    26
    11
    0
    Location:
    Louisville
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    So, I found he problem. The wire that measure the voltage on the very 1st 297EA6A9-420D-40AA-814E-F504AD5766FC.jpeg cell (furthest from the electronics) has burned up from arcing. See the picture.
    Worthless Toyota Dealership - wasted my time. This chat is much more useful.
     
  11. Tony Lucas

    Tony Lucas Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    26
    11
    0
    Location:
    Louisville
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    So, how do I replace it?
     
  12. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    11,218
    15,363
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    You can buy a module here and swap it out;).

    @TMR-JWAP sells them, or go to Hybrid Automotive and they sell them too:).

    Glad you got it sorted. Good luck and keep us posted (y).
     
    Tony Lucas and SFO like this.
  13. fotomoto

    fotomoto Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    5,410
    3,638
    0
    Location:
    So. Texas
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    You're finding the first symptoms of a dying, old battery. Now after repairs to the harness, you'll have some time to determine what your next steps will be. Also check the pin connections at the batt. ECU for any issues as sometimes those arc just like that sensor.

    GOOD LUCK!
     
    Tony Lucas likes this.
  14. Tony Lucas

    Tony Lucas Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    26
    11
    0
    Location:
    Louisville
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    How can I buy that one wire and re-run it back to the beginning?
     
  15. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    11,218
    15,363
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Do you need to buy a new wire?

    Maybe a wider picture if the wire is damaged would help.

    Your above picture shows significant corrosion. So I would clean everything up, and if module 1 is bad, swap it out, then balance the pack.

    Good luck and keep us posted (y).
     
    Tony Lucas likes this.
  16. VFerdman

    VFerdman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    1,141
    1,156
    3
    Location:
    Western Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    If you have any soldering skills at all, you can just add a small length of new wire to the old one and put a new lug on it.
     
    Tony Lucas and SFO like this.
  17. ericbecky

    ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    4,358
    3,164
    1
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Often the corrosion is not limited to one site.
    It often travels the length of the wore. Somtimes the entire length all the way to the pins on the HV Battery computer plug and even to its circuit board.

    It may be a good idea to buy a new HV wire frame.
    This will include buss bars and wiring.
     
    Tony Lucas, SFO and jerrymildred like this.
  18. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    10,252
    12,582
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    I was about to suggest the same.
     
    Tony Lucas likes this.
  19. Tony Lucas

    Tony Lucas Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    26
    11
    0
    Location:
    Louisville
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I took the end of the voltage sensor wire and shoved it under the nut and put it back together so I could drive - it worked - for now.
    All of the terminals have some level of corrosion.
    Are the batteries dying?
    I’ve included more pictures.
     

    Attached Files:

    Raytheeagle likes this.
  20. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    11,218
    15,363
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Looks pretty standard for an older battery;).

    The next step would be to remove all of the copper and clean it of the corrosion.

    Just make sure to torque everything to 48 inch pounds as the terminals are weak ;).

    Good luck and keep us posted (y).
     
    Tony Lucas and SFO like this.
Loading...