Remote start never seems to work?

Discussion in 'Prime Main Forum (2017-Current)' started by syllablelight, Oct 18, 2021.

  1. syllablelight

    syllablelight Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2020
    39
    18
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    LE
    I have almost never been able to use remote start, does anyone else have this problem?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. lbligh

    lbligh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    132
    17
    0
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    LE
    You mean it ever worked? It never has, for me.
     
  3. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    8,753
    7,023
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    If you are talking about Remote Engine Start, then it is not included in the PP. If you are talking about Remote Climate Control, then from the reports by others, it only works if you set the AC at max cool or max heat. No other temp setting seems to work. I never installed the Toyota App, so this is information I read from others reporting. Please read this thread: 2021 Prius Prime LE vs. XLE Remote Connect Question | Page 2 | PriusChat
     
  4. Sgt Bill

    Sgt Bill New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2021
    28
    24
    0
    Location:
    St.Louis Mo.
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    We have a 2021 PP and to use the remote start on the ap we had to pay an additional charge to be able to use it.
     
  5. renoblueprius

    renoblueprius Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    11
    9
    0
    Location:
    Reno, Nevada
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    XLE
    The remote AC Start on my 2021 XLE has worked for me but half the time it does not.
    The doors must be locked for it to work.
     
  6. vvillovv

    vvillovv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    1,858
    655
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Thanks @Sgt Bill that makes sense.
    I've noticed that the base Prime doesn't have all the features that other two trims get that's a bit confusing when trying to figure out exactly what the car has as usable features. Especially in the base trim, like our 17 Plus.
    I've been able to use climate control about 75% of the time I try to run it. On our 17 Prime, when climate control does work, it locks the doors automatically when the A/C starts and will cancel the climate run prior to the 10 minute time limit, if the doors are unlocked.
     
    #6 vvillovv, Oct 19, 2021
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2021
  7. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    8,753
    7,023
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    What additional charge? The car comes will a free trial period (1 year for LE and 3 years for XLE and Ltd) for all Connected Services available except the WiFi Connect for LE which has a free trial of 2GB/3Mo but your Ltd trim does not have the WiFi connect capability. You may have to sign up for the registration, but no subscription fee should be charged until the trial period is over.

    upload_2021-10-19_7-32-41.png
     
  8. vvillovv

    vvillovv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    1,858
    655
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Like the ole saying goes. " As clear as MUD! 'eh / A' " :ROFLMAO:
     
  9. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    8,753
    7,023
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    Yeah, Toyota's implementation of the infotainment system to Connected Service is a "work in progress" which may never get completed. Or this may be true for all carmakers, IDK? With the IoT revolution still very much in high gear, I would not want to spend a large amount of my effort or money trying to figure out how things work in my PP. What works today may or may not work tomorrow after an update.

    I am still trying to figure out how to configure the Google Chromecast and Amazon Fire TV and Apple TV all to behave together in coherent ways. And those gadgets have been around much longer than the Prius Prime and have gone through uncountable revisions, updates, new generations, and still do not work perfectly. For all practical purposes, the 6 years old first-gen FireTV dongle no longer works. It is one thing to ditch a first-gen FireTV dongle (which cost less than $30 then but I got it free) and buy an updated newest version at ~$30. But for an integrated hard and software in a car, it is not that easy to keep pace with changing technology. That's why I have not registered my current PP with Toyota App on my phone.
     
    #9 Salamander_King, Oct 19, 2021
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2021
  10. vvillovv

    vvillovv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    1,858
    655
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    I'm not trying to promote or distract, rather, trying to understand where the personal boundaries are.
    I read that gas prices are a determent for following this line of experimentation. Did I understand that correctly?
    Can using CHG Mode be more efficient? | PriusChat
     
  11. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    8,753
    7,023
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    Totally off-topic. But, yes, for the CHG mode experiments, the current high gas price makes it unreasonable to test the CHG mode or HV mode drives. As for the current topic of the use of Connected Services on PP, even if it is free, I would not want to try using it because, at the least, it causes more frustration than conveniences or benefits.
     
  12. vvillovv

    vvillovv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    1,858
    655
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    geeez I was not aware I'd strayed way too far offtopic. :rolleyes:
     
    Salamander_King likes this.
  13. burrito

    burrito Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2021
    264
    95
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    You can buy or make ramps to get your car higher off the ground. If you don't have a torque wrench, you can just tighten nuts hand tight, then go "a little further;" should be about right. If you had cleaned the EGR earlier you wouldn't have blown a head gasket. In any case, it's probably your 12 volt battery. Make sure you check all the connections and all the fuses. Change the fob battery too, even if it tests OK. You waited way too long to buy a Prolong charger, but you can just do the chicken dance.

    Does that cover it? :cool:
     
  14. vvillovv

    vvillovv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    1,858
    655
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    you must have read Grit s sig.
     
  15. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    8,753
    7,023
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    Which thread are we on now??? :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
     
  16. vvillovv

    vvillovv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    1,858
    655
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    why? did I go offtopic again?
     
Loading...