remote windows up or down??

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by chiefs1313, Jun 13, 2010.

  1. chiefs1313

    chiefs1313 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    7
    0
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I have a 2010 prius II with the remote start, I was wondering if there is an option to program the remote to roll down the windows.
     
  2. The Electric Me

    The Electric Me Go Speed Go!

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    7,447
    3,514
    0
    Location:
    Undisclosed Location
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hmm...do you really want a system that remotely starts the vehicle and rolls down the windows?

    Why don't you just call it the "Steal Me" feature.
     
  3. chiefs1313

    chiefs1313 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    7
    0
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III

    no smartguy, I want the option to remotely roll down the windows. they wouldn't have the key fob, so they couldn't drive anywhere anyway.
     
  4. stream

    stream Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    2,977
    445
    14
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I don't think that's available on the Prius.

    FWIW, I've owned many cars with that feature, which also opened the sunroof (and found it very useful to get the hot air out of the car before you get in), but none of them allowed you to use the remote to roll up the windows (even though that feature is available outside the US)--thank the lawyers for that. ;)
     
  5. chiefs1313

    chiefs1313 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    7
    0
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III

    Thanks,

    is there a way to get that feature, independent of the remote start?
     
  6. stream

    stream Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    2,977
    445
    14
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I've never heard of a way.
     
  7. Judgeless

    Judgeless Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    1,824
    240
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I am sure when a third party remote start is released that will be an option.
     
  8. macman408

    macman408 Electron Guidance Counselor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    1,178
    347
    1
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Just so you're aware, you don't actually need to have the fob to drive somewhere - just to turn the car on. I don't have remote start, so I don't know whether you need to do a regular start with the fob in the car - I'd assume so, though, since it's supposed to turn off after 3 minutes.

    But it's entirely possible to get in your car, start it, switch drivers at some point, drop the original driver (and key) off, and have the second driver get stuck whenever they turn the car off because they don't have the fob and can't turn the car back on.
     
  9. MagnusAG99

    MagnusAG99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    135
    104
    22
    Location:
    Norway
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    anyone found out if this is possible yet?
     
  10. mmmodem

    mmmodem Taste Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    2,533
    1,410
    0
    Location:
    Milpitas, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Aftermarket alarms have had this feature since the 90's. I had this feature on my 1992 Accord.
     
  11. MagnusAG99

    MagnusAG99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    135
    104
    22
    Location:
    Norway
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    some other toyotas got this feature tho, isnt it possible to maybe use another toyota that got this features relay? or some like that? if the power windows is in some sort of relay.
     
  12. Jeffhark1988

    Jeffhark1988 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    4
    7
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Let me chime in here there is an option and the company is California based. The software plugs into your obd port it's pretty slick
     
  13. MagnusAG99

    MagnusAG99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    135
    104
    22
    Location:
    Norway
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    really? where can people get that?
     
  14. FinToy

    FinToy Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    137
    126
    0
    Location:
    Finland
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Just buy aftermarket alarm system and make sure the device has option to control other devices. Those "other devices" can be for example Webasto or power windows. Shouldn't be a problem for a decent installation shop to make it happen.
     
  15. K-Dub

    K-Dub Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    28
    7
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I bought the Carista OBD plug in hopes that it would allow window control. It doesnt. I emailed Carista and they confirmed that option is not available. At least is did get rid of the reverse gear beeping!
     
  16. MagnusAG99

    MagnusAG99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    135
    104
    22
    Location:
    Norway
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    hey dude, since u got the carista app, do u know how much the whole setup u had to buy costed?
     
  17. K-Dub

    K-Dub Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    28
    7
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Pretty sure it was about $40 through Amazon. There are other parameters that you can adjust with it. If you search on the web for the Carista they have a finder page that lists what options you can adjust. Worth the $40 just to make the damn backup beep stop. Now only one beep!
     
    MagnusAG99 likes this.
  18. orenji

    orenji Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    3,178
    2,151
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Yes there is a device that plugs into your obd2 port. It allows you to roll down and up all windows at once. I have one.
     
  19. MagnusAG99

    MagnusAG99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    135
    104
    22
    Location:
    Norway
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    the real question now is, whats it called, LOL
     
  20. royrose

    royrose Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    557
    170
    0
    Location:
    Manitou Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    For people without the remote start: The remote puts the car in ready mode (which also turns air conditioning if you have it set) but it shuts off when you open the door. Once you are in you restart the car to drive off. So, there is no possibility of driving off without the fob to restart it.

    In theory you can use it to cool the car down before getting in it but I haven't found it to be worth the bother. I won't get it on my next Prius.
     
Loading...