1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Replaced big battery just goes to neutral

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by [email protected], May 2, 2011.

1. sww@noadt.com

[email protected] New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    This is my first attempt at posting so forgive me if not doing right. I took my 2005 Prius to dealer and was told both battery computer and battery CPU were bad (easy $4,000.00 fix). So, I pulled big battery, located bad cell and replaced with simular voltage (7.9 VDC used cell). After re installing, the car will only go to neutral and will not start. Note, before tear down, car would start and run (i drove home from dealer). Befor pulling big battery I could reset trouble lights for short time by removing ground to AUX 12V battery. Now, lights don't change and are always on. Car wil not start or run and will only go in "Park" and "Netral" and "B" does not show on dash like usual. Please help.

Steve

2. fotomoto

fotomoto Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    First thing the trouble shooting experts will want to know are the fault code numbers.

Good luck.

1 person likes this.
  3. firepa63

firepa63 Former Prius Owner

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Do you have the traction battery disconnect turned back to the locked position?

4. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Pressed firmly? It takes some force.

Tom

5. sww@noadt.com

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    i'm not sure what traction battery is, but if it is the hybrid big batttery and your talking about the orange saftey disconnect than the awnser is yes. Any other battery outside of 12V battery, than no. sorry i know enough to be semi-dangerous. please advise

6. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two