Replaced HV Battery now car will not stay running

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by 04priusnow, Apr 30, 2013.

  1. 04priusnow

    04priusnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    334
    195
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Another note. Prior to me buying it was inspected by a Toyota dealership who deemed the HV Batteries to be bad and needed replaced at 3500$ or so. No other reports at the time of inspection. The Toyota service history is pretty detailed and was religiously serviced. Auto check gave the car a 96...This is why I was interested in it.
     
  2. 04priusnow

    04priusnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    334
    195
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I'm not sure how to proceed. Re program the smart keys? Find different battery?
     
  3. 04priusnow

    04priusnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    334
    195
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Ok. It seems that when the ICE shutsdown electric still works. My MFD is not updating but shows wheels spinning . Still no arrows or battery status. And weird key fob issue. Car will not turn on with fob in slot but all SKS features work
     
  4. nh7o

    nh7o Off grid since 1980

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    1,686
    331
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    The fact that you have seen the Red Triangle says there are DTC being generated. The Torque app may not talk to all the ECU's in the car, so there might be something that a complete scanner like the mini VCI will pick up. That would also indicate which ECU's were not talking by trying each one in turn during the health check.

    The message about the A/C not being connected indicates that the network is not talking to it. The MFD not updating is another symptom of BEAN, Gateway ECU, or CAN bus problems. And the car shutting down says there is some network problem that puts the car in fail safe mode.

    One thing to try is to be certain the cable on the battery ECU is fully clicked into place. If it is not, it can foul up the CAN network for the other ECU's. Beyond that, this is a really weird problem that needs Techstream to sort out. Torque won't do it, I suspect. I can't imagine why a battery swap would do all that.
     
  5. 04priusnow

    04priusnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    334
    195
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Is there a way to reprogram the slot and not touch the SKS features?
     
  6. 04priusnow

    04priusnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    334
    195
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    So I have 2 keys. One set is rough and the battery is dead but once inserted into the slot I can start the car. The other functional key will not work in slot. So I need a way to add the slot feature or register it..
     
  7. nh7o

    nh7o Off grid since 1980

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    1,686
    331
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    The famous (on PC, anyway) "chicken dance" will work for the slot.
     
  8. 04priusnow

    04priusnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    334
    195
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Come again?
     
  9. 04priusnow

    04priusnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    334
    195
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    So I think that leaves the MFD being bad. Does year matter since I do not have NAV or camera? 06 or newer high resolution?
     
  10. nh7o

    nh7o Off grid since 1980

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    1,686
    331
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Search for "chicken dance" using the search function above, which is the term for a procedure to program a key in the slot.

    I think your MFD is OK, your problems lie elsewhere.
     
  11. 04priusnow

    04priusnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    334
    195
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Thanks for the info. When I purchased the car the MFD had three same error. Do the MFD respond when the HV battery dies like normal?
     
  12. nh7o

    nh7o Off grid since 1980

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    1,686
    331
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Ah so. You didn't mention that the MFD situation was prior to the battery change. You might have a case of the cracked circuit board mentioned here:

    Prius MFD
     
  13. 04priusnow

    04priusnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    334
    195
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Yep. Just went to the junk yard and picked up one from an 05 for 50$. Through it in... Works like a champ.. All 8s well just need to do the chicken dance. Thanks for the help
     
  14. dmm

    dmm Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    7
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Damn, reading that article and the others he posted, that hobbit guy knows what he's talking about.
     
  15. usnavystgc

    usnavystgc Die Hard DIYer and Ebike enthusiast.

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    3,159
    978
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    He's a great guy and a real Prius pioneer
     
  16. MK500

    MK500 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    92
    41
    6
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Great to hear you finally got it working! I was getting worried there for a bit.

    Have you had the chance to take it for a drive now that everything is reassembled?
     
  17. 04priusnow

    04priusnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    334
    195
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Today was the first Day out with her. Everything seems functional and a 50/50 commute to work resulted in 47.4 mpg. This is with bald tires in front and broken bands in rear. Just put new rubber on her haven't checked mpg on the way home. I am coming from a olds intrigue getting 18-20.....way impressed and comfortable and already had my first Prius hater experience today... Guy blaring horn cause I left 3 car space from a guy in front while I was still rolling forward...;)
     
  18. MK500

    MK500 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    92
    41
    6
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Excellent! Nothing like that first drive feeling when you realize you are literally doubling or tripling your MPG.

    The haters are out there for sure. Just ignore them; they are probably more angry about their light wallet than your Prius. I figure they just spent $80 filling up their truck -- which they use to drive to and from work (nothing against trucks for actually hauling things).

    You'll have to post a picture once she is presentable :)
     
  19. nh7o

    nh7o Off grid since 1980

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    1,686
    331
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    04', What became of the original complaint, about the "car will not stay running" ? Apparently it runs OK, so were you thinking that the ICE was supposed to stay on at all times?
     
  20. 04priusnow

    04priusnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    334
    195
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    The battery seemed low since it was just at or below 15volts. I thought the ice would run for an extended time to charge battery pack and also warm coolant/cats. Also Seemed to stutter and die when putting it into drive. It may have been trying to remap the air/fuel having the 12v battery unplugged.... Also having the bad MFD didn't help. Wasn't seeing the battery status feared there was another issue.
     
Loading...