1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Replacing the Ignition Starter Immobilizer Switch question

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by re-evaluating, Mar 8, 2024.

1. re-evaluating

re-evaluating New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello I am a newb to Prius looking for some help. I searched but nothing related comes up with the terms I am using. I recently purchased a 2004 Prius with only 45k miles, government owned since new with extensive service records. I only got one FOB (black) and it is worn pretty badly. I began looking for an additional FOB and it got me thinking which is often dangerous.
    So my question is if I replace the Ignition Switch (FOB Slot) with a unit (and FOB) from a SMART (Silver logo FOB) car, would the start function without inserting the FOB work? I obviously understand that I will NOT have any other of the Smart functions and I am not looking for that ONLY the start function. Obviously the next question would be would the FOB be able to be programmed to unlock door via the FOB buttons? The start function with out inserting the FOB is appealing as it is what I have been driving for quite a while. I am capable of doing the switch replacement myself but I am not familiar enough with these cars to know the relationship of the components. My first guess would be probably not, but hoping someone might know that this function could work. Thank you in advance for any assistance.

2. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base