1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Reprogramming fob for 2006 Prius - revisiting the chicken dance

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Geoff Packe, Dec 6, 2023.

1. Geoff Packe

Geoff Packe New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I thought I would share my experience of programming a new key fob. There are still quite a few people out there with old models for whom this might be useful.

I have a 2006 Prius and I recently lost my everyday set of keys. I have a backup master key. The key for my Prius is all black – non smart.

I then bought a refurbished fob off eBay but noted that it was a Japanese import.

I followed the programming procedure described in Prius chat by usnavystgc in 2011.

PROCEDURE A
    This procedure (steps 1. through 5.) is to be used for both the black and chrome logo key fob. This will program the fob to Start/stop engine while it is inserted into the key port. All new fobs should be programmed for this regardless of logo or SKS functionality
    -------------------
    1. Get into the car, close and unlock all doors and ensure the car is off
    2. Insert old fob (your fob that currently works) into slot and remove it 4 times in a row, and insert it a fifth time but leave it in there!
    2. Open and close driver door 6 times.
    3. Remove old fob from slot. Car is in fob programming mode at this point. Red anti-theft light remains on.
    4. Insert new fob and leave in the slot for a full minute. Watch the blinking red anti-theft light on the dashboard. When it stops flashing and goes dark, your new fob is all set.
    5. Remove the new fob and you're done with the START/STOP portion of programming

After several attempts I was successful. I should also mention that it took more like 2 minutes for the flashing light to stop (see step 4).