1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Reving the Engine

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Marvinh, Jul 19, 2007.

1. Marvinh

Marvinh Marvin

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Newbie here .. with a silly question: How do I rev the engine at a moderate RPM?

I have noticed when I am in neutral pressing the accelerator has no effect. The engine does not run.

In park, if I press the accelerator, the engine will start but it will only run at set RPM. I cannot rev the engine.

Why would I want to rev the engine you ask? Well, today in the New York area we had some really heavy rains. I checked this forum to see how a Prius would perform if forced to drive over a flooded road. Some posters suggested running with only battery power. However, this might introduce some water into the exhaust or air intakes. So reving the engine would be a good way to blow any water out of the exhaust.

So the question is: Is there a way to rev the engine above idle speed?

Thanks, Marvin

2. Bill Merchant

Bill Merchant absit invidia

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    I think a better question is, "Why would you drive through water high enough to get into your exhaust or air intake?" Revving would suck water into the intake. The ICE will run if the catalytic converter in the exhaust system cools. You lose traction when your car starts to float.

If the roads are flooded, stay off them.

Welcome to PriusChat!

3. ZA_Andy

ZA_Andy Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A