Road Sign Assist - accessing the stack?

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Technical Discussion' started by The Professor, May 7, 2021.

  1. The Professor

    The Professor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    538
    740
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Excel
    So I decided to try RSA again, after deciding it was a waste of space 4 years ago as it got signs wrong, or missed them, so frequently it was a distraction rather than an "assist". That's still true.

    However, I'm puzzling over something. It says in the manual in the "Road Sign Assist" section (page 331-2 in mine), in the "Indication on the multi-information display" sub-section:

    "if signs other than speed limit signs are recognized, they are mentioned in a stack under the current speed limit sign."

    The graphic in the manual shows the same "stack" indicator that I'm seeing in the attached picture taken earlier in my car. Note the shadow on the sign's right edge. Normally there's no such shadow.

    The HUD shows just the speed limit, with no sign underneath.

    So how does one see what's in that stack underneath the speed limit sign? Is there a way to scroll through them? If not, what's the point of ever showing that "stack" indicator?

    Also in the same area in the manual it says:

    "When the driving assist system information is selected in multiinformation display, a maximum of 2 signs can be displayed."

    Now I'm sure I've seen this years ago... but how does one "select" it? Using the buttons on the steering wheel does't seem to allow me to scroll far enough over to the RSA area. It just loops back round from Settings to the Driver Information screen. It does scroll to that area on the display if I have RSA off and want to choose between the battery/real time fuel use/accelerator gauge", but not it seems if RSA is on.

    So - any ideas how to see the other sign(s) that RSA saw?
     

    Attached Files:

    alanclarkeau and Valiant V like this.
  2. The Professor

    The Professor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    538
    740
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Excel
    Oh, it might be the screen with the road/lane lines/radar info on it that needs to be displayed (like it says "driver assist information screen"... I'll try that next time.
     
    alanclarkeau and Tideland Prius like this.
  3. alanclarkeau

    alanclarkeau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    6,853
    7,406
    0
    Location:
    near Brisbane, Australia
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Good luck - some of their terminology - and menus - are weird.

    There isn't a selection in HUD options?
     
  4. The Professor

    The Professor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    538
    740
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Excel
    Figured it out. It is the "Driver Assist Screen" that shows you the full information. That's the screen that looks like a road with a border on each side. If you have it on that screen, the RSA will display the speed limit on that screen, rather than to the right where it normally displays. If there are further signs, it shows them directly below.

    So if you're not on that screen, and you see a speed limit with a stack indicator (like in my picture), you can hit left/right on the Multi Function Display to find the Driver Assist Screen and you can see both signs.

    If I recall correctly, what the HUD displays varies by country. Specifically, I seem to remember other countries (i.e. not UK) display the turn instructions from the Sat Nav. Mine doesn't.

    On the HUD, I can toggle between the speedometer, speedometer + acceleration gauge, or off. Other things I've seen on the display are the BRAKE! warning from the automatic emergency braking / pre-collision / intelligent clearance sonar, the Coffee icon from the Lane Assist if you go out of your lane too often, and single speed limit signs if RSA is on.
     
  5. GalaxyRain

    GalaxyRain New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2021
    28
    16
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius
    Model:
    LE AWD-e
    I thought that it will only display speed limit and Do Not Enter signs. Is that accurate? I guessed because if it were to miss a stop or yield sign and there was an accident, Toyota wouldn’t want to be held liable.

    It’s an okay feature and I’m leaving it on for now, but I’ve noticed that I will drive through a 55mph zone (yes, I’m in the US) where there is a “speed limit 40 if flashing” sign and it will pick up on that 40 sign. It has no way to differentiate if the flashers are on. So I have to keep in mind it can be incorrect.
     
  6. The Professor

    The Professor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    538
    740
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Excel
    I guess it depends on the signs and where you live. When I drive past a school here there's a 30MPH sign, followed by a 20MPH sign with some text underneath to say "When lights flash" or something like that. My car picks that up as 30MPH, but it shows a stack. If I go to the stack I see the 30MPH sign, then a 20MPH sign with a white rectangular sign below it which is blank. It doesn't show the text for that white sign, but that's the bit that would have said "When lights flash", so I know it's a conditional 20MPH sign. I haven't seen anything yet other than speed limits and speed limits + white signs.
     
  7. krmcg

    krmcg Lowered Blizzard Pearl Beauty

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    2,591
    2,374
    0
    Location:
    Whittier, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I was under the impression that the sign reading application was not available in the US. Is this something new?
     
  8. GalaxyRain

    GalaxyRain New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2021
    28
    16
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius
    Model:
    LE AWD-e
    I’m not sure if it’s new but it is there in my 2021 Prius.
     
  9. AzWxGuy

    AzWxGuy Weather Guy

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    842
    412
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius
    Model:
    Limited
    The owners manual states the RSA can read speed limit signs, stop signs, and Do Not Enter signs. Here in AZ we have lower night speed limit signs on some roads and it won't pick those up. Those signs have a black background and white lettering. The speed limit detection also has a warning mode when you exceed the posted speed limit by, I think, a user adjustable value of zero, 3, or 5 mph. The sign will blink in your HUD and have an orange border around it. I like that feature.
     
  10. PtPri

    PtPri Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2021
    91
    39
    0
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Luxury
    I wished one could adjust/hack the HUD display, to show the speed limit somewhat breefly after it passed the sign, and then resume to accelerator indicator.. Maybe occasionally flash a speed limit reminder. Or just turn RSA off from the HUD, without turning it off from the multi-info display...

    Is there any chance for that customization?



    Also, one thing that totally irks me is the RSA displaying the end of speed limit sign for an incredibly long time... It makes no sense to have the speed limit info on at all times, and then the end of speed limit as well, for the info is mutually exclusive?!
     
  11. The Professor

    The Professor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    538
    740
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Excel
    What you're asking for is exactly how it works for me. When I pass a speed limit sign, it displays on my HUD for maybe 10 seconds, then goes back to the normal display. It only displays again if I'm over that limit by more than 2MPH. You can tell it's showing you the speeding warning because the speed limit sign will have a red background with white text, instead of the normal white background with black text. You can configure it in the settings to either just warn about over-speed or warn and beep. There's a separate setting for the Sat Nav based verbal speed warnings.

    There is a setting for how much of a buffer it allows, but I think that's for the Sat Nav warnings only. Either way, if the settings are set by the multi-function display and buttons on the steering wheel then it's the RSA settings. If they're set on the Sat Nav menus then it's the Sat Nav.
     
    PtPri likes this.
  12. PtPri

    PtPri Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2021
    91
    39
    0
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Luxury
    What are the settings you have set? Mine stay on regardless, maybe it comes off after a long while without signs. And the end-of-limit sign also stays on for an absurd amount of time.
    The over-the-limit indication is exactly the same on mine.

    I really wished it could go away faster on the HUD.
     
  13. The Professor

    The Professor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    538
    740
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Excel
    So on the Multi Function Display (the one where you normally see the accelerator indicator)... I go to Settings column -> Vehicle Settings (at the bottom of the list) -> RSA -> Notification Method -> Excess Speed -> then I've set Only Visual. Then back once to Notification Method -> Others -> set to Only Visual. Then back twice (I think) to RSA -> Notification Level -> and choose 1MPH or 3MPH or 5MPH.

    It's possible there are related settings somewhere buried in the HUD settings, but I didn't see anything obvious.

    Two things to bear in mind are the colour of the speed limit icons on your displays, and the Sat Nav. The Sat Nav speed warnings are completely independent of RSA, so you may see different speed limits on both. If the speed limit icon is mostly red then it thinks you're going faster than the speed limit and it will display it until you slow down. Once you're going under the speed of the last speed limit sign it saw the icon should turn mostly white. After around 10 seconds of being white mine disappears in the HUD and goes back to the accelerator indicator. The speed limit will reappear in the HUD if I go faster than the speed limit (that it last saw), or if the speed limit changes.

    It also has some quirks in that it often reads the similar looking speed limit signs you see on the back of large vehicles that indicate what speed they're limited to. Here in the UK this is further compounded by the fact vehicles from the EU have speed limits in KPH not MPH, so I sometimes see speed limits like "110" displayed, which would be the equivalent of 70MPH, which it's just pulled from the back of the vehicle in front. It also sees speed limit signs meant for trains if you're travelling next to the tracks.
     
    PtPri likes this.
  14. PtPri

    PtPri Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2021
    91
    39
    0
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Luxury
    Thank you so much for your settings description, I will compare those with mine - and adjust if needed.

    I shall try your settings and see how it behaves!

    Yes, the exact same thing happened to me, and it took a while to find out why I was getting a 90km/h speed limit in the middle of a highway/expressway :LOL::LOL:
     
Loading...