1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Route Preview

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by TonyPSchaefer, Jul 9, 2005.

1. TonyPSchaefer

TonyPSchaefer Your Friendly Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Hardly a month goes by anymore that I don't find something new about the Prius. I say month now because I think I have found or read all the seemingly obvious ones. This one made me start laughing.

I've never a nav system before, so I enjoy using it whenever I can. Yesterday I programmed the location of a convention I attended today. Then I started playing around with the buttons. Tapping "Route" presented three buttons including one called "Route Preview". Sounded interesting so I tapped it.

I was presented with a map showing my current location. Along the bottom of the screen were the follwing VCR-like buttons:
    [|<] [<] [>] [>|]

Well, buttons are meant to be pushed so I tapped the [>] and would you believe that Priapus showed me a movie of my entire route. Not just a bird's-eye-view of the route, but from any zoom level I desired I could literally watch the entire drive. And when the movie ended, I was at the desitnation. I hit [<] and the trip went backwards.

I just sat in my car and laughed out loud.

Here are other things I learned:
    [|<] takes you back to the starting point
    [>|] takes you to the final destination
    When the movie is in motion, the [>] button turns into [>>] which is "faster forward".
    The backward button changes from [<] to [<<] for "faster backward".

Just wanted to share with the group.

2. tag

tag Senior Member

:lolup:

I love that! The route preview is a riot. But, along the same line (if you want a good laugh), look at the way the NAV tried to route me for a recent trip from Schaumburg to Elk Grove: