1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Routing a 1/8 audio jack cable to the center console. How do it do it?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by baconismidog, Dec 30, 2009.

1. baconismidog

baconismidog New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Greetings.

I just bought a used 2007 Prius base package. It does not have an audio jack in the console, just power. Both my wife and I have Iphones and use Pandora streaming radio, playlists and the phone a ton. Thus, I needed a way to pipe the audio out from my phone to the radio and to link bluetooth.

I removed the h t t p and www from all my links cause I'm a noob...

I've purchased the car2aux (Toyota / Scion / Lexus Auxiliary interface(Car2AUX-TOY) - indashpc.org/new/aux_adapters/car2aux-toy.html ) adapter and this Kingston bluetooth adapter (Kensington LiquidAUX Bluetooth Car Kit - K33428US - buy.com/prod/kensington-liquidaux-bluetooth-car-kit/q/loc/101/listingid/65080086/206684059.html?adid=18007)

I hope to have the bluetooth plug into the car2aux and route the audio over the A2DP protocol via bluetooth. Now (assuming this all works) I need to be able to nicely conceal all this mess from my Type A anal-retentive wife.

I am thinking I would like to make a perm install of a aux cable using something like this (radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2103868) into the console. That way, If this solution fails or if I want to move to something different in the future I will have the option to simply dump that bluetooth and move to a different aux jack type item.

What I am looking for is detailed instructions to route a cable from my dash or glove box to my console. Also some thoughts on different/better ways to do this.

Thanks in advance everyone.

2. Oneaxepony

Oneaxepony Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius