Safe jacking points?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by lil_red_Prius, Mar 17, 2008.

1. lil_red_Prius

lil_red_Prius Rollin' with my toy...

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    I have a new Prius. I wanted to give it the first 3000 mile oil change myself. I've been doing my own on vehicles for many years.

I have a floor, 3 1/2 ton hydraulic jack.

Where are the safe jacking points on the front? The manual seem to be pointing to spots inward from the wheels. Frankly, the car is too short for me to actually get my jack slid all the way to that point?

When you are fixing a flat, where's the jacking points? Right along the edge of the frame, just behind the wheel?

I want to do this right without hurting my baby! Photos or detailed description would help

2. McShemp

McShemp New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I think you could do an oil change without lifting the car, but that takes a lot of "braille" work. I suggest you get yourself a set of ramps. They make changing the oil a breeze.

3. bat4255

bat4255 2016 Prius v #2 and 2008 Gen II #2

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
  4. David Beale

David Beale Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    For changing a wheel (flat) there are notches on the side sill weld tabs. The jack (scissor jack that comes with the car) goes there. One just behind the front wheel, and one just ahead of the rear wheel on each side. If you want to use a floor jack there you should make an adapter so you don't bend the weld tab.

For oil changes, just use a small ramp - I use 2X8s with one 2X4 under one end. You can actually do the oil change without the ramps too. You may need the "socket type" oil filter wrench. Or an oil filter wrench that turns 90 deg. (it's a tight space around the filter). Once you remove the original oil filter, if you're careful you won't need a wrench for the rest of the changes.