1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Scan Tool for ABS/Actuator and Brake Bleed

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by ShadeTreeMech, Feb 2, 2023.

1. ShadeTreeMech

ShadeTreeMech New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi folks - I'm a novice user here and recent Prius owner seeking guidance on a scanner for a 2004. It recently developed symptoms consistent with a failing ABS actuator (dash lights, pump cycles every 5-10 seconds, brakes suddenly squeaking). I'm going to attempt the repair myself as the best quote I got is $2,500 (I'm in CA). I'd like to buy a scan tool which will 1) Confirm codes indicating actuator is the problem and 2) Facilitate the full ABS Bleed procedure upon replacement of the actuator. I don't mind spending a few hundred as I hope the tool will be useful on this and our other vehicles too (Lexus ES 300 and F250 6.0 diesel). Even if it just does the aforementioned, I'll consider it a big win for first project on my mom's old Prius (she's fine, just got a new one). I've read through many threads, but haven't found or understood enough to choose. Much thanks in advance to anyone able to assist.

#1 ShadeTreeMech, Feb 2, 2023
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2023
  2. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Someone just posted a link in a download link for the text stream 15 version All you need is a Windows 7 laptop or something like that and a VCI cable not too too complicated to round up.

3. mr_guy_mann

mr_guy_mann Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Replacing the actuator requires both the full bleeding procedure, as well as the linear solenoid relearn.