ScanGaugeII work on 2010?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by taxachusetts, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. tumbleweed

    tumbleweed Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    4,067
    686
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I think I select two rather frequently when I'm choosing gauges to display. I've noticed neither will display any data when that happens but no harm is done.
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. tumbleweed

    tumbleweed Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    4,067
    686
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Adrian, when you have time would you please check the TXD and RXF for DUC and DLC they are listed as the same values for upper and lower converters.
     
  3. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Def. no harm ... The fact both don't display isn't the car's ECU -- it's due to the programming of the SGII.
     
  4. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    That's correct, DLC and DUC use the same TXD and RXF. RXD is what differentiations the two XGAUGEs. (Basically, the upper and lower temps are returned in the same response from the ECU ... so RXD is what tells the SGII what to look at and display.)

    Since it does use the same TXD and RXF, you cannot display both temperatures at the same time with the SGII.
     
  5. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Coming soon:
    - Passive fuel volume
    - Individual wheel speed
    - Battery temp sensors (including inlet air temp) ... this may take a while. It's a two byte temperature that doesn't follow any normal convention, so the math is hard to figure out.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. tumbleweed

    tumbleweed Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    4,067
    686
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    There still may be a problem (typo) because everything is the same for the two, RXD as well as TXD and RXF?
     
  7. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    You are totally right. I need to check my notes as I have it written down there ..... I think one is 2808 and the other 3808, but hold tight until I can fix.
     
  8. astrand

    astrand PHEV Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    33
    12
    0
    Location:
    Linköping, Sweden
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi. I've been traveling for a few days, which gave me some time to analyze my log files and summarize things. The result is available on this spreadsheet:
    http://mycanscan.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/mycanscan/trunk/doc/PriusCodes.ods

    Many messages are still unknown, but it's a start. When it comes to finding the Battery ECU messages, one idea is to pull the fuse that powers it, and check which IDs that disappears.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. astrand

    astrand PHEV Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    33
    12
    0
    Location:
    Linköping, Sweden
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Oh. I've found out why we haven't been able to find those messages: They are not on the CAN bus at all. The battery ECU (now called "Battery Smart Unit") is instead connected to the Power Management Control ECU via a dedicated serial link.
     
  10. epboyd

    epboyd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    7
    1
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Have you looked at frenchies document?

    http://prius-touring-club.com/documents/prius_gen3_can_codes_v001.pdf
     
  11. astrand

    astrand PHEV Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    33
    12
    0
    Location:
    Linköping, Sweden
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
  12. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Pretty kick-nice person!

    On your sheet your have 0B6 as the speed address, but I'm using 0B4 on my SGII and it's reading in passive mode. Do they both show speed?

    Edit: I see 0B4 is listed for speed too, oops! :)
     
  13. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Wow, that's a bummer. I wonder if they did this for the specific reason to prevent the spoofing?

    I figured the MFD SoC meter was populated from unsolicited SoC information on the BUS, but perhaps the MFD uses solicited messages or maybe one of the ECU's supplies a simplified output with a 1:1 mapping on the graph?
     
  14. astrand

    astrand PHEV Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    33
    12
    0
    Location:
    Linköping, Sweden
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Good point. If the MFD uses solicited messages, we can probably pick up the answer as well. I wouldn't be surprised if it uses simplified messages though.
     
  15. pablovv

    pablovv Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    15
    3
    0
    Location:
    Spain
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm new in this forum. Any chance to have Brake Position in the ScangaugeII?
     
  16. linuxpenguin

    linuxpenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    352
    182
    4
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    More than likely the MFD isn't aware of actual SOC--rather it is probably similar to the Gen2 system where the MFD receives how many battery "bars" to display which may or may not directly correspond to SOC. It has no reason to know the actual SOC since it does no calculations of it's own.

    The new HSD system is designed to be portable to multiple different vehicles and manufactures (like Nissan for example)--thus most of the HV stuff is internal.

    If you want SOC and other battery related messages you'll have to request them manually using the methods already outlined on this thread.

    Andrew
     
  17. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    We don't have the PID yet, but it's out there -- we just have to find it.
     
  18. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Too bad but makes sense. Well, at least what we can do is figure out how the bars map to actual SOC. It's low resolution but would be interesting to know if the Gen III car has a wider or smaller range of SoC displayed on the MFD versus Gen III.

    So it really sounds like to do any SoC spoofing that serial bus would need to be reverse engineered with something sitting in the middle. Sound messy and easy to break. :)

    SGII users are out of luck with SoC since there is no way to read the multi-frame messages...
     
  19. linuxpenguin

    linuxpenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    352
    182
    4
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    You can't do SOC spoofing on the new HSD due to the way it is designed. The new system has all those calculations performed by the main computer. The battery ECU is now mostly there to protect the individual cells from over/under voltages.

    I think your time might be better spent working on other aspects of the vehicle like the brakes and such (not as cool of course, but still useful to some). Maybe you can give Toyota a hand in fixing the 2010 brake issue ;).

    Andrew
     
  20. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Speaking of the Brake issue, the Gen III stores the last 3 times the ABS was activated as freeze frame data. A dealer would be able to read that using TechStream. It shows lots of relevant parameters like vehicle speed, wheel speeds, g-forces, and some solenoid and pressure info. Could be useful in gathering info about whether the braking issues are in fact ABS "events" or something else.
     
Loading...