Screen Unit Failure - MFD - Can now reproduce at will!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by ajpalm, Oct 9, 2004.

  1. ajpalm

    ajpalm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    22
    0
    0
    Well the first major fault with the Prius today (other than a few
    rattles!!). Currently have a sad '04 Prius, first 15,000kms were trouble
    free!

    It’s been a busy day of running around in the Prius and all was well.
    Then it happened!

    Went down to a friends house and then when I left the screen unit went
    strange, not displaying correctly, very slow to respond. A few 'reboots'
    of the car (oh I feel so dirty having to reboot the car!!) and still no
    luck.

    Seems like something is loose connection, cause once it came back ok,
    but only for a short time (less than a min) no amount of reboots can
    clear it.

    I've put some shots up on the web to look at. It appears a trip to the
    dealer. I've grabbed some codes from the unit in the diag menu (screen
    shots), so maybe they will answer what the fault is. URL is

    http://www.trufit.com.au/Prius/ScreenUnitFailure/

    Basically as you can see the following is happening

    - Info screen isn't getting data (but the wheels turn when your moving
    still!?)
    - Climate system says check the connection
    - Radio is always off, but works and you can turn the volume up and down
    still (see pic)
    - Sat Nav is missing, when trying to access it says "The external system
    is not connected"
    - VERY slow to use, takes a couple of seconds between pressing a button
    and a reaction
    - Telephone functions, maintenance items etc missing from menus.
    - No beeps on button pushes

    Interesting points
    - A/C system still works from the steering well, but nothing at all on
    the screen, unlike the radio.
    - Radio still works from the dash controls. Just no display (expect
    volume which is displayed. Didn't try channel change)
    - Steering wheel buttons don't work, excludes climate controls
    - Wheels on the ENGERY screen still worked (ie moved when the car was
    moving, stopped when it stopped).

    Let you know more after a trip to the dealer!

    Andrew in OZ
     
  2. m1j1tc0rn

    m1j1tc0rn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    92
    0
    0
    Re: Screen Unit Failure - MFD

    the exact same thing happened to me yesterday. totally odd. i have to go to the dealer today.

    -r
     
  3. efusco

    efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    19,885
    1,155
    9
    Location:
    Nixa, MO
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    This has been reported not infrequently. You'll both require replacement of the MFD. There should be a TSB out there on this problem so make sure your service guy checks if they try to blow you off.
     
  4. toolbox

    toolbox New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    72
    0
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Re: Screen Unit Failure - MFD

    let us know what they find this one as it has my attention...
    sounds like a module failure (either the mdf or body control module) or software glitch somehow.. do you know the inservice date on the cars as there has been a couple of software updates to correct a couple of software issue? your dealer should check if your current on all campains and recalls but i would make sure he checks.
     
  5. ajpalm

    ajpalm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    22
    0
    0
    Re: Screen Unit Failure - MFD

    Mines Built Early Feb '04 and reg'd late Feb '04. So it was a quick trip from Japan to Australia on the boat for me!
     
  6. ajpalm

    ajpalm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    22
    0
    0
    Re: Screen Unit Failure - MFD

    Just a follow up on this. My car is going into the dealer tomorrow and I've been worried that they won't be able to find it, due to it being intermittent fault.

    I've noticed over the last two days on the way to work that the MFD wasn't working, yet on the way home it was ok. Its been 30c degrees (about 86f) the last two days and the car is in the carpark at work in the sun. But has been under 16c during the night.

    It appeared to me that the heat made the unit work correctly and then failed when it cooled down.

    I've confirm this tonight. I got in the car and all was well with the MFD. Working correctly. I turned the AC to MAX and recycled air and let it run. Outside temp was 32c. After about 15 mins the MFD failed and stopped working.

    When I got home (didn't want to cook myself!), I did the reverse, I turned the heater to MAX (via the steering wheel, lots of presses) and left the car. Came back in about 15mins and the what do you know, the screen was working AOK.

    Just to confirm, I turned the climate back down to AC MAX and closed the door and left it again for a while. Sure enough a while later the MFD had failed and wasn't working again.

    This is good news, as it means my dealer will be able to fault it while they have it. Lucky cause I'm sure what would have happened, was when I dropped it off on the way to work they would put it outside and left it for a while. Then when they come to look at it, it wouldn't fault from being in the sun and being hot. Now I can tell them to turn the AC on MAX and close the door and come back in 20mins and check it!

    Sad part is, I got told via a Australian Prius owner there is a 12 week wait on MFD in OZ!!?

    Oh well.. more after the dealer trip in the morning (Melbourne City Toyota for those Oz locals)

    Andrew
    Sad '04 Prius in OZ!
     
  7. DaveG

    DaveG Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    806
    6
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Hmm... Maybe a bad connector in the display somewhere so when it cools down the connection fails and when it heats up, it's OK.

    do not know, had my car in California this year and it was hitting 39c outside at times. Alternately, it's now in Vancouver and I expect -5c to -10c in the winter. Hopefully it holds-up.

    Dave.
     
  8. ajpalm

    ajpalm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    22
    0
    0
    I think its a dry joint, going by those results and the error codes. They all point to a faulty BUS port from comms.

    These couple of sudden warm days (ie 20 below then suddenly 30-33) might have helped show up the dry solder join.

    I have noticed so far that all the failed MFD units are on the early firmware (ie don't get the toggle option on the steering wheel INFO). I'm hoping to get the lastest firmware with the toggle option.

    Andrew
     
  9. TonyPSchaefer

    TonyPSchaefer Your Friendly Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    14,810
    2,457
    65
    Location:
    Far-North Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    ajpalm,
    Thanks for the very descriptive problem and explination. I have only one question: how do you get to the codes screen in the pictures?
     
  10. m1j1tc0rn

    m1j1tc0rn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    92
    0
    0
    i took mine in yesterday. no problem reproducing and in a couple of hours they told me that they will order a new screen and replace it later this week.

    after driving for 5mins or so, everything usually works again.

    i'm debating trying to get the gas gague TSB included.
    -r
     
  11. Darkmage

    Darkmage New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    23
    0
    0
    I just started having this problem this past week. It goes to the dealership tomorrow morning, so I'll let you know what they say.

    I'm printing out this thread (and another one at PriusOnline) and taking 'em with me. Sigh.
     
  12. jayman

    jayman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    13,439
    622
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    BLEESH! You just HAVE to love CANbus and LIN! I've seen enough issues in industrial process control with CANbus timing that I'm very leery of its use in the automotive world. Surely there are better RTOS and controller networks out there?
     
  13. jimvitz

    jimvitz Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    94
    0
    0
    Location:
    Oak Park, IL
    Had my MFD screen replaced today. Took a little less than two hours to complete the job. Now I can switch from the energy screen to the consumption screen from the steering wheel INFO botton (couldn't do that before).

    Ten minutes after I got home, the mail came with the free NAV replacement offer. Poor timing I guess. Anyone have that done yet? How long does it take?
     
  14. Darkmage

    Darkmage New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    23
    0
    0
    Okay, the MFD finally arrived and the dealership replaced the part. A couple notes about the whole process:



    • I'll let you know more if I discover anything.
     
Loading...