1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Seat covers -- heated seats -- air bags?? What's the REAL story?

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by cyberpriusII, Apr 22, 2019.

1. cyberpriusII

cyberpriusII Prodigyplace says I'm Super Kris

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    So, thinking about dipping into sparse savings and buying a new Subaru Outback. I am reading stuff that says no seat covers because of heated seats and/or the "seat" airbags.

I have not approached a dealer about this, but wondering if you all have some knowledge about this issue.

Seatcovers are almost a NEEDED accessory for me as I often am a filthy mess when I get in the car. I have no prior experience with heated seats or seat airbags. Am looking at leather seats.

kris

2. Prodigyplace

Prodigyplace Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I know the seat covers need to be designed for the seat air bags so they let the bags deploy properly if needed.
    I think most cars now have seat air bags.

Trollbait likes this.
  3. kenmce

kenmce High Voltage Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Limited
    If the cover is made for your car it should allow for the airbags. I think they use deliberately rippable stitching. If it is a thin material, like a sheet of poly or cotton, the heat will work right through it.

4. ChapmanF

ChapmanF Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    The airbag is the main concern with a seat cover. I would want to check directly with the manufacturer of the seat cover, to confirm absolutely that it will part for the seat airbag in your car model.

A bomb that goes off and can't expand in the intended direction is still a bomb.

Trollbait likes this.
  5. Trollbait

Trollbait It's a D&D thing

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    My gen2 seat covers had simple flaps for the side airbags.